Author Topic: G.A.C. Hotspur  (Read 14874 times)

Offline Ernie

• Beginner
    • View Profile
G.A.C. Hotspur
« on: November 13, 2011, 02:03:40 PM »
Since this is my first build here, I though I would start with something rather simple so as to not embarrass myself too badly if it goes wrong :)!

This is the old Frog / Novo kit of the Hotspur glider. The Hotspur was designed as a light assult glider which could hold 8 troops. It was soon deemed impractical as it was recognized that landing so few troops per glider was less than ideal, and so the Hotspur was used as a training aircraft for future Horsa and Hamilcar glider pilots.

This is a plane I have wanted to model for some time and a friend of mine had the kit in his collection and was kind enough to give it to me to build. This is a Russian molding of the kit obtained many years ago in a bag, no decals are included. It is interesting to not that the surface of the plastic is very greasy, almost like a wax on the plastic, I have not noticed this with later examples of the kit released by Eastern Express for example. Though on this kit while there is allot of flash around some of the parts, the fit seems to be better than some later moldings of this kit.

My intention for this build is to add some detail to the cockpit, and since it has been awhile since I have finished anything, to finish it :) I am also using it as a pratice piece for re-scribing the few panel lines there are in anticipation of other projects that will require allot more re-scribing.

http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i179/captianplastic/Decorated%20images/hotspur/013.jpg
G.A.C. Hotspur

As you can see there is alot of flash around the parts, nice blue color too!

http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i179/captianplastic/Decorated%20images/hotspur/014.jpg
G.A.C. Hotspur

The cockpit area, not much there! There are a couple of ejector pin marks on the side walls, they are not too deep and can be easily sanded out.